English101
Wednesday, 11. September 2002
Remembered Event

Like all girls, I became interested in wearing make-up at a very young age. I can remember standing in the bathroom with my mother every morning watching her every move and asking tons of questions. I think that is how I learned to put on make-up. No one ever really sat down and told me, “this is how you put on make-up.” It was just something you kind of picked up on your own.
I remember when I was in fifth grade, so I was probably ten or eleven; it was the “cool” thing to start wearing make-up. Some girls did and some girls didn’t. But I wouldn’t have it any other way. I had to start wearing make-up to fit in with my friends. I was grateful that my Mom and Dad would let me wear even a “little bit.” I never thought about the girls in my class that weren’t aloud.
There is a leader in every class that every girl looks up to and listens to. The girl in my class was, of coarse, beautiful and all of the girls did exactly what she said. Lets call her Megan. If Megan didn’t like you, no one else liked you either.
I can remember this quiet girl who didn’t talk to anyone, she just minded her own business. Lets call her Amy. Well, one day, Megan decides she wants to pick on someone. Guess who she picked, Amy. So every other girl in the class (including me) started picking on her and calling her names because she didn’t wear make-up. I felt horrible about it, but I didn’t have the nerve to stand up to Megan. So this continued through the years (not just about make-up) and eventually I think she moved or actually I really don’t remember what happened to Amy.
I remember feeling bad about what was going on and happening, but powerless to do anything. So what if I did stand up to Megan? She and every other girl would just make fun of me too. I certainly didn’t want that. All I wanted was to be like everyone else. But I always asked myself, why didn’t Amy try to fit in with all of the other girls? Maybe she just wanted to make a point.
My point is I wish I had stood up to Megan, not just for Amy, but for myself. No one should do things (like making fun of someone else) just to make another person happy. Now I feel that I am mature enough so that if I were put in the same situation again, I would do the right and responsible thing. I know I can’t change what happened, but if I could see Amy again, I would tell her how sorry I am for all of the horrible things my friends and myself did and said to her.
To me, my experience relates to A Wound in the Face because my friends and I made fun of someone else because they didn’t wear make-up. The author, Angela Carter, keeps repeating herself by saying red lipstick is like a bloody wound. I agree and feel that woman shouldn’t have to wear make-up to make themselves feel beautiful. I am not saying that I don’t like make-up because I wear it everyday, but you shouldn’t feel like it is an obligation like some women do. Being feminine doesn’t mean that you have to fix your hair, dress up, and wear make-up.

Online for 7932 days
Last modified: 1/4/11, 4:44 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
November
Recent updates
Introduction Dear Reader,
As far back as I can remember I have been fascinated by...
by Kellie (11/25/02, 5:43 AM)
Profile Paper Marilyn Monroe:
Behind the Scenes Today, in the 21st century, many people are...
by Kellie (11/7/02, 5:08 AM)
Profile Idea I am planning
to do my paper on Marilyn Monroe using her quotes...
by Kellie (10/31/02, 3:06 PM)
Two Voice Poem Tube of
Red Lipstick I’m beautiful. I can make you beautiful. You...
by Kellie (9/25/02, 8:38 PM)
Revised Rememered Event The Evil
of Make-up In modern years, society can be harsh. Just...
by Kellie (9/23/02, 8:26 PM)
Remembered Event Like all girls,
I became interested in wearing make-up at a very young...
by Kellie (9/11/02, 1:00 AM)
Unfamiliar Words Zeitgeist - Youthful
Pastiche - Take off Euphemism - Ethics Iconographic - Ice...
by Kellie (9/3/02, 11:49 PM)
Themes/Key Words -What Women's faces
are supposed to look like -The basic theory of cosmetics...
by Kellie (9/3/02, 11:44 PM)
This is Kellie This site
is very helpful to our English class.
by Kellie (8/29/02, 3:00 PM)
Test Nothing yet
by Kellie (8/29/02, 2:42 PM)
Test Nothing yet
by Kellie (8/29/02, 2:41 PM)
test Nothing yet
by Kellie (8/29/02, 2:35 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher