English101
Monday, 25. November 2002
Introduction

Dear Reader,

As far back as I can remember I have been fascinated by make-up. I have always wanted to look like the models that I saw in beauty magazines. So as I was skimming through the pages of 100 Great Essays, the essay The Wound in the Face, by Angela Carter, caught my eye. I began to read the essay and before I knew it, I was finished. Many of my classmates commented that the essay was difficult to read, but I got enjoyment from what the author had to say. The concepts had much truth to them. This is my favorite sentence from the essay; It was something of an exercise in pure form, because the models’ faces aren’t exactly the face in the street - not low-style, do-it-yourself assemblages, but more a platonic, ideal face.
The central theme of The Wound in the Face is what women’s faces are supposed to look like. This was the most obvious to me after the first time I read the essay. As I began to research and read the essay several times again, other themes such as societal wounds and expectations, women’s self-perception and sense of security, and women’s basic theory of cosmetics became clear to me as a reader. I became more and more interested in these themes as I had to connect them to my own life and world. As I began to explore the various topics that these themes could be applied, I realized how versatile something like societal expectations could be.
The central idea, what women’s faces are supposed to look like, is important to me because I believe in the point that the author is trying to make…because the models’ faces aren’t exactly the face in the street…I admit, I like to read beauty magazines, but only for pure enjoyment. But there are many young girls and women that take these magazines seriously. Possibly if more women were to read The Wound in the Face they would realize that not all women are picture perfect like the models they see in magazines.
My portfolio shows different ways to express the themes in this essay. Whether it is poking fun at the themes, or taking them on a more serious level. There are various examples of each.

Sincerely,
Kellie Vanfosson

Online for 7932 days
Last modified: 1/4/11, 4:44 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
November
Recent updates
Introduction Dear Reader,
As far back as I can remember I have been fascinated by...
by Kellie (11/25/02, 5:43 AM)
Profile Paper Marilyn Monroe:
Behind the Scenes Today, in the 21st century, many people are...
by Kellie (11/7/02, 5:08 AM)
Profile Idea I am planning
to do my paper on Marilyn Monroe using her quotes...
by Kellie (10/31/02, 3:06 PM)
Two Voice Poem Tube of
Red Lipstick I’m beautiful. I can make you beautiful. You...
by Kellie (9/25/02, 8:38 PM)
Revised Rememered Event The Evil
of Make-up In modern years, society can be harsh. Just...
by Kellie (9/23/02, 8:26 PM)
Remembered Event Like all girls,
I became interested in wearing make-up at a very young...
by Kellie (9/11/02, 1:00 AM)
Unfamiliar Words Zeitgeist - Youthful
Pastiche - Take off Euphemism - Ethics Iconographic - Ice...
by Kellie (9/3/02, 11:49 PM)
Themes/Key Words -What Women's faces
are supposed to look like -The basic theory of cosmetics...
by Kellie (9/3/02, 11:44 PM)
This is Kellie This site
is very helpful to our English class.
by Kellie (8/29/02, 3:00 PM)
Test Nothing yet
by Kellie (8/29/02, 2:42 PM)
Test Nothing yet
by Kellie (8/29/02, 2:41 PM)
test Nothing yet
by Kellie (8/29/02, 2:35 PM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher